A Word on the Paris Attacks

🇫🇷 Nous sommes tous Français! 🇫🇷

In times like this, one is thankful for art. It can capture our pain, our loss, our despair. But it can also inspire, instill hope, and uplift. So, instead of some contrived words or inept speech in French, I simply leave you with France’s entry from the ESC this year: N’Oubliez Pas, which, I think, captures a perfect response in the face of terrorism. Yes, we mourn for the dead, feel for the injured, we must reclaim what is loss – but our spirits will never be quelched. We will keep going, getting stronger, with the memories of those who have fallen as our inspiraion.

Je suis ici ce soir au milieu de ces ruines
Pour vous parler d’espoir et vous chanter la vie
Et je fais le serment quand séchera le sang
De reconstruire ma ville bien plus belle qu’avant

Mais n’oubliez pas!

New French Flag MapIl ne me reste que des larmes
Ces quelques notes venues d’autrefois
Et le chant de nos prières, nos cœurs qui espèrent
Et le vide sous mes pas

Il ne me reste que les cendres
De mon village plongé dans le silence
Je ne suis qu’une blessure, un cœur sans armure
Comment survivre après ça?

Mais je suis là, je n’oublie pas
Dans mon village balayé par l’histoire
Et je vis là, n’oubliez pas
Effacée des cartes et des mémoires

Je me souviens du rire des enfants
La voix des hommes quand ils partaient au champ
Les fêtes des moissons, l’odeur dans les maisons
Les éclats d’amour et de joie

Mais je suis là, n’oubliez pas
Effacée des cartes et des mémoires

Quand ils sont arrivés, cachés derrière leurs armes
Ils Ă©taient des milliers, ils riaient de nos larmes
Ils ont voulu détruire nos croyances sous leurs armes
Avec des mots de haine que l’on n’connaissait pas

Je suis ici ce soir au milieu de ces ruines
Pour vous parler d’espoir et vous chanter la vie
Et je fais le serment quand séchera le sang
De reconstruire ma ville bien plus belle qu’avant

Mais n’oubliez pas

English Translation

New French Flag MapOnly tears remain for me
These few notes from the past
And the song of our prayers, our hoping hearts
And the emptiness under my steps

Only ashes remain for me
Of my village plunged into silence
I am only a wound, a heart without armor
How do I survive after that?

But I’m here, I don’t forget
In my village swept away by history
And I live there, don’t forget
Erased from the maps and memories

I remember the children laughing
The voices of the men leaving for the field
The harvest festivals, the smell inside houses
The bursts of love and joy

But I’m here, don’t forget
Erased from the maps and memories

When they arrived, hidden behind their weapons
There were thousands, they laughed at our tears
They wanted to destroy our beliefs under their fire
With words of hatred which were unknown to us

I’m here tonight in the middle of these ruins
To talk to you about hope and to sing to you about life
And I swear that when the blood dries
I will rebuild my village even more beautiful than before

But don’t forget

One response

  1. Pingback: Safety and Security at Eurovision | Follow EO on Twitter: @escobsession

Leave a Reply

