RtD14: Looking Back at Andorra

Welcome to the second installment of my “Road to Denmark 2014: A Retrospective” where I am looking at each entry that has competed since I started following the Contest in 2007.  After briefly recapping each song, I will choose one or two to focus on.  Today, we’ll be looking at the three entries of Andorra from 2007-2009.

AndorraClick the table to see it larger.

Andorran Flag Map2007 – Salvem El Mon (Save the World) – Andorra’s most successful entry (to date), a pop rock number that’s half Catalan and half English.  Probably my least favorite Andorran entry (and really, one of my least favorite in all).

2008 – Casanova – Probably the mircostate’s best chance at qualifying for the Final derailed by one of the WORST outfits to grace the ESC stage (Gisela won 2008’s Barbara Dex Award).  Not a bad song, as long as you don’t listen to it too many times in a row.

2009 – La Teve Decisió (Get a Life) – Susanne Georgi actually competed in the first Dansk Melodi Grand Prix that I saw back in 2007; after losing, she moved to Andorra.  Actually a fairly pleasant song, it suffered from being amongst a strong field including a Contest legend (Chiara), Belgian popstar Hadise (representing Turkey), and two of the top songs that year (Iceland and Bosnia & Herzegovina).

Let’s take a closer look at: AndorraAndorra 2006.  I know it falls outside the bounds that I set up, but honestly, I don’t find any of the three entries above all that remarkable.  And, generally, find Andorra to be a somewhat weaker competitor (though, I do want to see the small country return).  My favorite entry is Sense-Tu – it’s sexy, it’s powerful, and it’s unexpected.  I think the only reason the song didn’t do well was because Jenny is a bigger girl (really, she’s healthy-sized, but that might as well be obese by pop-star standards).

Despite my harsh words – I want Andorra back!  Come back Andorra!  We want you to return to the ESC (Spain especially does)!

Go here to find past posts in this series.

Our next country to be highlighted: Armenia!

2 responses

  1. Pingback: Road to Denmark 2014: Looking Back at Albania | Eurovision Obsession

  2. Pingback: Playlist of the Week: Eurovision for Anglophobes | Eurovision Obsession

Leave a Reply

